Ever since Andrew Smith Hallidie tested the first cable car on August 2nd, 1873, on Clay Street, in San Francisco, cable cars have been a part of the city's heritage. In 1974, the San Francisco Cable Car Museum was established to celebrate this heritage. The museum is located in the Washington/Mason cable barn and powerhouse where visitors are treated to views of the cable car engines and wheels that pull the cables. The museum features displays of brake mechanisms, grips, cable, tracks, models, tools, and a wide variety of photos documenting the history of cable cars. There are three antique models in the museum that are the most popular part of the collection. Following a tour of the museum, visitors can browse the gift shop where they find items like books, clothing, bells, and other cable car memorabilia. The museum is open from 10 am until 6 pm everyday from April through September, and then from 10 am until 5 pm everyday from October through March. The museum is closed for major holidays like Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter, and New Year's Day. Admission to the museum is free, making it an ideal family attraction or destination for cable car enthusiasts in San Francisco.