Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa


Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa was the fifth mission in California to be started by Father Junipero Serra. This San Luis Obispo, California mission was built in 1772. It was named after Saint Louis, the Bishop of Toulouse, France. However, the original mission building was destroyed. Thus the one standing on the grounds today was actually built in 1793, with a front portico added in 1794. It was torn down in 1877, but the portico was again added in 1933. The wood siding seen on the building in the 1800s was torn off, offering an adobe building again in 1934.

There were some troubles throughout the life of the mission, especially due to the Mexican War, which ruined some of the building. It took new funds to renovate the structure and keep it. The mission is still used as a parish, with weekly masses. Sundays offer masses at 7am, 9am, 11am, 6pm, and 7:30pm. The last mass on Sundays is always said in Spanish. Weekday masses are at 7am and 12pm. Saturday masses are 7am and 5:30pm. Visitors can tour the mission when there is not a mass or other event scheduled.

Review, comment, or add new information about this topic:

CAPTCHA

Read about other California tourist attractions:

Discuss California, California (CA) on our hugely popular California forum.


City-data.com does not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of any information on this site.  Use at your own risk.
Some parts © 2019 Advameg, Inc.