U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Africa
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 05-30-2018, 06:46 AM

258 posts, read 76,155 times

Advertisements

Hi..
I'm an history amateur from Lugano - Ticino- Switzerland ..Europe ( I like Ancient Romans and European renaissance )
I would like to get more informations about ancient subsaharian African civilization.
I was completely unaware of black African civilization... but recently i watched an African documentary on TV.. It was a surprise to me to know that there were advanced black African civilizations dating back centuries years ago..long before European arrival..

I think that is time to discover the real black african history..

Ancient Empires
Writing system
Society organization
Technology
Tale
Myth & Legend
Ancient ruins

Moderator cut: copyright violation

Last edited by Ibginnie; 03-14-2019 at 05:51 PM..

Old 05-30-2018, 01:43 PM

6,555 posts, read 9,068,716 times
Your second bottom sculpture is from the Benin kingdom not Yoruba.

Yeah sub Saharan Africa had it's share of kingdoms and empires. They are known but people have to be into African history to know about them. Some reasons the history of sub Saharan Africa isn't as well known is because most of the societies didn't leave written records and other than Great Zimbabwe,didn't build and leave structures that are still visible and that can be easily studied by archaeologist. The Benin empire did construct a wall around it's city that was longer than the Great Wall of China.

Old 05-31-2018, 03:40 AM

3,496 posts, read 2,510,345 times