U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Africa
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old Yesterday, 12:11 AM

6 posts, read 235 times

Advertisements

So I am Caribbean born of African descent living in the United States. I am no way a historian and I only study to get a passing grade. The subject that I am studying in is U.S History. Amerigo Vespucci whom America is named after has a published letter called 'Mundus Novus' in which he details his Voyage to the New World. In it, he is quoted as saying "Thence by sea we skirted the whole African coast and part of Ethiopia as far as the Ethiopic Promontory, so-called by Ptolemy, which we now call Cape Verde and the Ethiopians Beseghice. Can someone explain to me what that means? I thought before the 15th Century, Cape Verde was uninhabited. By the accounts of Vespucci, it seems that the Ethiopians were well aware of Cape Verde Islands. The sentence that follows that says, "And that region, Mandingha, lies within the torrid zone fourteen degrees north of the equator; it is inhabited by tribes and nations of blacks." Something isn't adding up. Is there something that I am missing in understanding what he meant by those lines? Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old Yesterday, 06:54 AM

5,661 posts, read 2,938,084 times
That last sentence you bolded was talking about "Mandingha" not Cape Verde. Mandingha was probably the African coast. Your misunderstanding comes from you not reading it correctly.

Old Yesterday, 09:08 AM

5,278 posts, read 8,062,580 times