Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alabama
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-07-2014, 11:22 AM

9 posts, read 34,298 times

Advertisements

Just found out we will be relocating to Alabama soon. The job location is between Montgomery and Auburn.

We're wondering which area would be best for us to live in with a 30 minute or less commute? We're younger attitude but middle aged, he's white-collar professional and I'm an artist. We like going out for a "burger and a beer" close to home, occasional fine dining, decent shopping, as well as other amenities, nearby. Going fishing is a biggie too.

We intend to rent for a few months while we get to know the area better...are short term or month to month rentals a problem?

We'll be looking in the under $350,000 range when we purchase....2300+sqft house, 3/4+acre, pool , ...am I being realistic in the hope of finding a place on that budget??

Thanks for any incite provided!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-08-2014, 04:39 AM

3,297 posts, read 6,262,401 times
East of Montgomery or Auburn, or the Prattville area which is just north of Montgomery. Would stay outside Montgomery for sure.