Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alabama
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-16-2015, 05:58 PM

2 posts, read 6,172 times

Advertisements

My name is John and I am a freshman in my 2nd semester at the University of Alabama main campus and I am writing this post to give out-of-staters--who are a growing proportion of the campus population--an idea of what to expect should they come here.

Even from as short a distance away as Memphis, Tennessee, I experienced what I can only describe as culture shock when I arrived at Alabama. I had heard of Greek life before, but never could I have conceived of it as something so dominant and all-influencing as it is for students here, especially new students. The fraternities and sororities serve as class-distinguishing institutions, essentially perpetuating the same popularity norms you had back at your old high school, with the wealthiest kids at the top and everyone else meant to follow behind. The fraternities and sororities are even stratified out by income status, with the most highly regarded ones having dues approaching $10,000 yearly dues while the ones that are the lowest on the totem pole have "mere" $2-3k yearly dues--these go up if you wish to live in the houses in your later years. About 30% of freshman males are fraternity brothers while a whopping 50% of freshman females are sorority sisters.