U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alaska
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-08-2012, 05:30 AM

1 posts, read 3,021 times

Advertisements

I've been working in the tourist industry in Valdez for nearly ten years. You might enjoy my favorite dumb tourist questions that I've gotten.

1) How far above sea level am I? (How tall are you? That would be about it.)
2) Do bears have retractable claws? (No. Only members of the feline species have retractable claws.)
3) Is it legal to hunt mammoths? (Yes, but it's very difficult to get close enough to kill one. We humans have pretty much given up on hunting mammoths.)
4) Where do you keep the eagles? Why haven't I seen one, yet? (Go outside and look up. Chances are good you'll spot one. If not, try again in a few minutes.)

And my favorite:

5) What time do the bears come to the water to start eating the salmon? (Well, they're supposed to be there at 2:30 p.m. every day but they were 45 minutes late yesterday so they were fired. We can't have irresponsible unreliable bears here--you understand why we had to let them go...)

Please share your favorite stupid tourist questions. If we can keep laughing, we can keep sane.
Quick reply to this message

Old 07-08-2012, 06:12 AM

3,843 posts, read 3,667,340 times
From a tourist in Barrow:

"Why are there houses here, I thought Eskimos lived in igloos?"

I told her the big screen TVs kept getting wet.

Or:

"Can you see polar bears in town?"

Usually the hind parts since the front parts are either running away from people with guns or eating someone.

Old 07-08-2012, 06:29 AM

1,160 posts, read 1,295,349 times