Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alaska
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-05-2013, 10:04 PM

3 posts, read 4,612 times

Advertisements

I am moving from the southeastern US to Fairbanks for work in about a month. I might just be the most anal retentive and obsessive traveler that ever existed, and I've been doing research furiously for a few months now (I dream almost nightly about crossing the Canadian border.) I've got the Milepost, road maps, emergency and repair supplies, etc. I haven't found an answer to this question yet, though.

I'm driving my Honda Fit up the first week of May and today I took the car in for a tune up and trip check. It was suggested that I buy new front tires (I guess I haven't been as good about rotating/balancing as I thought). The tires are not bald or anything, I've had them a little less than two years (a 3 hour RT daily commute will do that) but they're definitely not new. Maybe about 40% tread left. Should I replace them now and risk getting an irreparable flat in a brand new tire on the Alcan? Or should I take the trip with the old tires (I will be carrying a brand new full size tire for backup) and replace them after I'm settled? They're not near worn enough to be dangerous in rainy conditions (never skidded/hydroplaned). The total drive for me will be around 4300 miles.