U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alaska
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-28-2013, 08:16 PM

7 posts, read 9,808 times

Advertisements

First off, I'm currently disabled, although I'm hoping to try to heal and work as I have a four year degrees in Biology and Literature.

What are the practicalities of moving to Barrow? It's been my goal in life ever since I was 6 years old and found out about Barrow. I've followed these forums for years and reading Floyd Davidsons posts has been and incredible experience, making the desire to actually move there unbearable.

So again, what sorts of expenses am I looking at? I have a wife, no children. She also loves the things I've shown her of Barrow...and the two of us have done our best to live in remote places the past 10 years, but extreme northern Maine just isn't cutting it.

What would be the first steps to take? Is this an unlikely pipe dream?

I have so many questions but can't seem to find answers. Theres nothing to give and idea of apartment prices, etc. I imagine with my degree in literature and biology that once I am healed (I have chronic pancreatitis) that I could work as a teacher. Again...is this practical? Possible? Where can I find info?

Thanks so much for any help at all and I apologize for the giddy and repetitive nature of my post but I just found out this week that I'll be freed up to potentially make the move this coming year...assuming it is possible without being rich.

Thanks so much.
- Nick
Quick reply to this message

Old 12-28-2013, 09:22 PM

3,843 posts, read 3,667,340 times