U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alaska
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-27-2018, 12:25 PM

3 posts, read 955 times

Advertisements

I do not see much talk of the software development industry in Alaska. Is it a thing? I did a simple google search and did not find that many positions for it.

The reason I am asking is because I am looking to move to Alaska as a 24 year old single male with 30k in savings. I have a degree with two years software development experience. I have been to Alaska for a vacation and loved it; my father also lived in Alaska for 4 years. I would like to move there first and then apply for jobs as it would give me a better shot of landing interviews. They say my age is the time to make risky decisions but is this even a reasonable move?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-27-2018, 01:14 PM

997 posts, read 839,659 times
Some companies will let sw engineers work remotely, though you may need to work from their main office a couple of years first. You may want to find a job at such a company, be upfront about your plans when interviewing. Good luck!

Old 02-27-2018, 06:51 PM

6,082 posts, read 2,500,737 times
I am a life long alaskan who was recently laid off in engineering. There is not a whole lot of anything going on in Alaska.