U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Alaska
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-03-2006, 09:24 PM

39 posts, read 96,555 times
Smile Teacher looking for rural/small town school district

Hello! I'm a teacher, looking for a smalltown/rural school district with smaller classes and more interaction between instructor and student. I'm looking at Alaska, Wyoming, Montana, Dakotas, similar areas, but I must admit Alaska is where I would prefer. I would appreciate any suggestions or info on smaller areas and schools. I have a 14 yr. old son who, like me, enjoys the outdoors and camping, fishing, hiking, etc. We have dogs and cats that would be moving with us so suggestions there would be greatly appreciated also.
Thanks so much!
Kat
Quick reply to this message

Old 05-05-2006, 12:26 AM

38 posts, read 145,455 times
Hi Kat! If you are looking for small town, the MatSu area is good. There are also many smaller towns around it. Wasilla, the main town in that area, is growing pretty rapidly. However, it's still small and there is much land around that entire area.

Old 05-05-2006, 08:26 AM

14 posts, read 38,954 times
Try the Lower Kuskokwim School District in Bethel. They have 26 small village schools. Or you might try the Lower Yukon School District in Mountain Village, they have about a dozen schools. Lot of teachers leaving the LKSD this year.

Old 05-05-2006, 07:16 PM

Thank you both! I'll be checking on those, it sure helps to have the correct names for the districts.

Old 05-05-2006, 07:35 PM

8 posts, read 38,675 times
Default Lksd