U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Albany area
 [Register]
Albany area Albany - Schenectady - Troy - Saratoga Springs metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Unread 03-27-2010, 02:59 PM

8 posts, read 17,372 times
Question Municipalities with Lower Taxes in Capital Region?

Hi everyone,

I'm a young professional moving to the Capital Region for a new job.

I'm looking to purchase property, mainly because I'm sick of dealing with landlords. I want my own space.

Can anyone recommend any municipalities with lower taxes? (I know proprerty taxes are generally high, but some must be higher than others).

To be honest, I don't really care about the quality of Schools. I have no kids and don't plan on having any soon. I know that good schools increase the value of a home, but I'm interested in buying a home as a place to live, not as an investment.

Thanks a lot!

Matt
Quick reply to this message

Unread 03-27-2010, 03:32 PM

26,980 posts, read 30,438,119 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattymax View Post
Hi everyone,

I'm a young professional moving to the Capital Region for a new job.

I'm looking to purchase property, mainly because I'm sick of dealing with landlords. I want my own space.

Can anyone recommend any municipalities with lower taxes? (I know proprerty taxes are generally high, but some must be higher than others).