U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Food and Drink > Alcoholic Beverages
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-06-2017, 10:25 AM

485 posts, read 270,176 times

Advertisements

Okay—so I used to work in a restaurant and never really got past vodka. I hated gin. Brown liquor was a mystery and always seemed too dry, harsh or metallic. For my generation, Sex On The Beach, a Lemon Drop or a Purple Hooter was the pinnacle of cocktail creativity, before the advent of the Cosmopolitan.

So... over the past two years I've been exposed to a lot of different drinks, both classic and leaping on the bandwagon of "let's try this and see what happens," that seems to be really pervasive in a lot of the newer restaurants. The newer cocktails tend be a lot more expensive, but some of the flavors are amazing.

What has been your favorite discoveries?

Mine has been
—Campari/Aperol
—Cynar
—using different kinds of bitters
—higher end bourbons
—Gin
—Lillet
—spicy ingredients, like jalapeño

I still haven't developed an appreciation for the Bloody Mary. Maybe next time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-06-2017, 11:07 AM

811 posts, read 722,113 times