U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Americas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

View Poll Results: Best city for families
Houston, Texas 9 45.00%
Los Angeles, California 2 10.00%
Rio de Janiero, Brazil 9 45.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-25-2011, 07:54 AM

54 posts, read 101,909 times

Advertisements

My company wants to relocate me and my family from Los Angeles to Rio de Janerio in a few months. I work in the oil industry. I have no choice but to relocate due to several new contracts they have received. The contract in Rio de Janerio would pay around $10,000 reals a month, a housing allowance of $5,000 reals a month, and my 3 children would have their private schooling paid at the British or American School in Rio de Janeiro. The contract would start in November 2011 and end in November 2016. We stay in a safe family friendly area of LA now and my wife is not wanting to move due to the violence she has heard exists in Rio. Are the gangs in Rio worse than the ones we have here in LA? What type of housing could I get with my allowance? I would need a 4 bedroom Villa or apartment in a family friendly area near the schools since my wife does not work. How would you compare Rio and LA? My other choice is to move to Houston, TX for 3 yrs at my current salary. Would Houston be a better choice without the perks, for a family friendly city. I have two 5 year old twins and a 15 year old, they love the beach. Please help me decide my family's fate for the next 4 yrs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-25-2011, 08:10 AM

54 posts, read 101,909 times