U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Americas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 12-08-2012, 10:11 PM

7 posts, read 39,433 times

Advertisements

I have always had a love of the spanish language. In my family there are mexicans, blacks and puertoricans. I have always wanted to go to a hispanic country and actually live there for a few months..ive heard that things are pretty ok for blacks, but that when it comes to actual employment, that they are only offered jobs such as janitor, car washer, garbage man, server..etc..i am a nurse and could not imagin not being able to do my job just because of my race. Any one can help me understand better, thanks!

Old 12-08-2012, 10:22 PM

1,199 posts, read 2,193,540 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by mstiffany View Post
I have always had a love of the spanish language. In my family there are mexicans, blacks and puertoricans. I have always wanted to go to a hispanic country and actually live there for a few months..ive heard that things are pretty ok for blacks, but that when it comes to actual employment, that they are only offered jobs such as janitor, car washer, garbage man, server..etc..i am a nurse and could not imagin not being able to do my job just because of my race. Any one can help me understand better, thanks!
If you are already an educated professional, you should be fine. Many Black people in Latin American countries are shut out of higher education, which is why they struggle getting beyond menial jobs.

Old 12-09-2012, 10:28 PM

17,370 posts, read 21,213,499 times