U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan > Ann Arbor
 [Register]
Ann Arbor Washtenaw County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-20-2007, 02:10 AM

2 posts, read 6,972 times

Advertisements

I'm a college student, and I'm living in California. I want to transfer to University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, but I don't know anything about this city. As I read all the posts in this forum, a lot of people say it is very hard to find a job in Michigan. I wonder it is true or not because I need a part time job to pay for my tuition fee. May someone please tell me about the job, education, and the living in here? Thank you.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-20-2007, 06:28 AM

9 posts, read 35,598 times
It is hard to find jobs here, especially without any skills or degree. Heck, even with a degree, it's hard. I'm moving out of state because I physically cannot afford a college education in state, and financial aid funding has been cut drastically.

I really hate to say it (since I do love U of M), but it isn't worth it unless you can somehow get a full ride.

Ann Arbor itself is a beautiful city though. The driving can be a pain, but I love to just park and walk the streets.

Old 09-20-2007, 08:04 AM

1,039 posts, read 3,261,570 times