U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 10-04-2010, 08:43 AM
 
Location: Casa Grande, AZ (May 08)
1,490 posts, read 3,343,945 times
Reputation: 1159

Advertisements

Accidentally posted this last night in a completely unrelated thread so here it is again:


I just got back from another drive to SoCal and got to wondering - why is it that in AZ the "City Limit" signs dont list the latest population like they do in California?

I like that little bit of information - like on this trip I noticed that Palm Springs only has an actual population of 42K, but whenever people are going to that area its always "we're going to Palm Springs" , very few people say they are going to "Desert Hot Springs". Curious.

Anyway, I ve noticed this before, but finally remembered to ask over here....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 10-04-2010, 09:19 AM
Status: "Resist" (set 12 days ago)
 
Location: San Jose, CA
8,780 posts, read 16,718,666 times
Reputation: 9917
There are probably a few reasons why not. Since population figures are rarely stagnant, the sign is likely to be wrong the minute it's installed. Towns grow or shrink, sometimes even seasonally.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-04-2010, 10:29 AM
 
Location: Casa Grande, AZ (May 08)
1,490 posts, read 3,343,945 times
Reputation: 1159
Yeah, I understand - but at least you get an idea? I mean EVERY city/town in California has it....so there must be reasons they think its good?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-04-2010, 02:33 PM
 
Location: Paulden, AZ
783 posts, read 1,664,861 times
Reputation: 496
Still got the sign with population here in Buckeye. There is 1 on 85 heading west, just before Tom Jones ford, and there is 1 on Miller, just before the John Deere dealership, just after the Canal, heading South.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-04-2010, 02:51 PM
 
Location: Casa Grande, AZ (May 08)
1,490 posts, read 3,343,945 times
Reputation: 1159
AZDesert,

I dont think the ones on I 10 for buckeye have it though? I wonder if it is ADOT that has the restrictions? Although my Casa Grande signs that are not along the freeway dont have it?

Hmm....obviously not the world's biggest problem! Just curious!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-04-2010, 08:22 PM
 
Location: Paulden, AZ
783 posts, read 1,664,861 times
Reputation: 496
I'm not sure, I haven't noticed those. I don't pay attention to the signs, I just somehow end up here. Kind of like a 6th sense.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2016 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona
View detailed profiles of:
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2018, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top