Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 11-08-2006, 12:25 PM

1 posts, read 16,916 times

Advertisements

I've been working in restaurants for almost 30 years in southern Ca. and am just shocked to know that in Az. and many other states in this country, tipped waiters and waitresses get paid a wage of $2.13 per hour. That is a crime as far as I am concerned and I think a majority of people are ignorant to this law. I work at a restaurant that is part of OSI corp. which ownes OUTBACK, and ROY'S RESTAURANT,just to name a few. They were major financial backers to defeat the prop. to increase min. wage in Az. SHAME ON YOU!!! OSI and many other corp. restaurants charge the same price for their meals in Az as they do in Ca. where food servers get paid the standard min. wage which I believe is $6.75 soon to be $7.50 in Jan. I guess the huge difference in labor cost is going right back into the corp. pocket for bigger profits. Also, food servers are required to tip out hostesses, food runners busboys, bartenders and banquet managers.In other words instead of these restaurants paying decent wages, food servers are required to pay other restaurant employees out of their tips. If a server makes $150.00 in a nights work chances are they will pay out about 40% of that money to other restaurant employees that are not being paid a fair wage by the employer. Also to top it off, they will over staff and bring employees into work hours before opening time to stock restrooms, cleaning maintinence and varous other odd j