Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-29-2007, 09:21 PM

136 posts, read 999,124 times

Advertisements

Yet another job offer to consider... Laveen. It does not show up on the City- Data list of cities. Is it like a suburb of Phoenix? Is it its own very little city? More importantly, what can anyone share about the area? My wife and I are looking to relocate from Michigan. She is a paralegal and I am a teacher. We have now job offers from the following areas: Baltimore, MD, Chicago, IL; Laveen, AZ; Avondale, AZ; Yuma, AZ; Bakersfield, CA; and Fresno, CA. Looking for a little input from the City-Data community. THANKS !!!

Last edited by TeacherMan; 04-29-2007 at 09:25 PM.. Reason: typo
Quick reply to this message

Old 04-29-2007, 10:07 PM

1,112 posts, read 3,997,265 times
Laveen is a district of Phoenix, in the southwest part of the city. It, like most areas, was a rural farm town until the 90's, and then it was annexed into the city of Phoenix, most of it anyway. Then things boomed, and the cheap real estate prices made things attractive for lower-income families. That turns alot of people away, but its nothing to run from.

Laveen has some crime issues, but, as usual, its all about the neighborhood you pick. Some neighborhoods are wonderful, others.. aren't. If you ever have to head downtown (downtown Phoenix, that is.) ..You have a pretty easy drive. Even in traffic. Not that you would really value my opinion.. But if you're looking to take valley job offers, I'd personally recommend Avondale over Yuma and Laveen,