U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Unread 10-22-2009, 03:58 PM

3 posts, read 24,263 times
Post Leaving a house vacant in summer in AZ

I am new to owning a second home in AZ. Do I need to leave the air conditioning on in the summer? My house has the heat shield on the roof and low e windows. Do I need to leave buckets of water around?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Unread 10-22-2009, 04:52 PM

7,535 posts, read 13,992,621 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngac View Post
I am new to owning a second home in AZ. Do I need to leave the air conditioning on in the summer? My house has the heat shield on the roof and low e windows. Do I need to leave buckets of water around?
No expert here and I've never been a Snowbird, Youngac . . .

However, I have a few Snowbird neighbors and they completely shut everything down including all appliances and the water. They also take the normal precautions for bugs and mice even though not a major issue here.

Good Luck.

Unread 10-22-2009, 07:25 PM

5,529 posts, read 5,426,540 times
My sister has a place that is empty during the hot times.
She just shuts everything off and she does not leave the AC on.

Unread 10-22-2009, 07:47 PM

25,539 posts, read 16,757,816 times
When we leave AZ in the summer we turn off the water at the main, set the airconditioner to 78 degrees, do a bug extermination inside and out, set the alarm, and give to someone reliable an emergency number.