U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Asia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-25-2016, 07:12 PM

992 posts, read 937,271 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone; I'm posting this topic to get some insight on which city I should teach English in for the next year.

About Me:

I'm a a white American male in his mid-20's.

I'm currently working full-time in the marketing and advertising industry. I'm studying for law school, and will be taking the LSAT in June. Ideally I'll score my target score and be able to apply for school before leaving to teach English for a year.

I've lived abroad before; a semester studying in Paris. I loved Europe, but I'm looking for a different experience.

What I'm Looking For:

I want to live a huge city with awesome public transit.
Excellent nightlife and attractive women
A unique culture which cannot be replicated anywhere else
Decent cost of living (I imagine Tokyo will lose this category)

I'm aware this criteria is vague, and that these three cities already fit most of them, except possibly the fourth. So, if locals or people who have been to them would post their own stories or unique ancedotes that an American should consider before making a major decision like this, I'd greatly appreciate it!

P.S. One of my best friends from college teaches in Shanghai, so I'm slightly biased towards going there
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-27-2016, 08:39 PM

I'd love some insight!

Old 01-27-2016, 08:50 PM

317 posts, read 235,631 times