U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Asia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-07-2009, 09:49 AM

17 posts, read 66,100 times

Advertisements

I am from NYC, and I am looking at the option of taking a 2yr expat assignment for a European Investment Bank in either of these two cities.

I have never worked overseas before, and have never been to either city.

If anyone has any experience with these cities, or taking an expat assignment in general , any thoughts would be appreciated.

Also if anyone has any idea what the tax implications are in the US?

Thank You in advance
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-07-2009, 10:57 AM

26 posts, read 103,617 times
I've never lived in either, but have visited both on business. That doesn't do more than scratch the surface, but the following notes might give you a start.

Manila: the longstanding US influence makes it easier to adapt to. English is widespread in the business district and the local accent is comprehensible. There are areas, e.g. Makati, where you could almost believe you were back in the US. Traffic is heavy and chaotic by US standards, but reasonable by Asian ones.

Mumbai: the poverty is a lot more grinding and visible here, and the infrastructure is godawful. It's hard getting around: roads and traffic are both terrible by anyone's standard (you'll need a driver, but they're inexpensive). Expat-oriented accommodation, whether short-term or long-term, is *very* expensive. "English" is widespread, but often limited.