Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-03-2010, 12:19 PM

13 posts, read 57,307 times

Advertisements

I have been teaching in Shreveport, LA for 11 years and would like to transfer to Atlanta next school year. My certification is in grades 1-8, middle school math, and computer literacy. Currently, I teach middle school math at an alternative school. I also teach math at a community college. Are there any middle schools that are close to community colleges in Atlanta? Do you think I will be able to get a job for the 2010-2011 school year? I will be coming to a job fair in Feb. 2010. I have turned in all of my paper work to GA Prof. Standards, and should be receiving my GA certificate next week. What is a good neighborhood in Atl for a single lady in her early 30's? I do not know anybody in Ga, so I need to be in a safe environment. I do not want to live in the same community that I work. Thanks.

Last edited by princess1976; 01-03-2010 at 12:27 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-03-2010, 12:31 PM

3,972 posts, read 12,656,056 times
Get the job first. Being certified in math should help, but last week I met a teacher with 10+ years experience and a bunch of add-ons (certifications) who was told by one principal that she could hire 3 new teachers for what she would cost. (Certainly an exaggeration, though her salary would be nearly double that of a new teacher.)