U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-07-2012, 12:05 AM

4 posts, read 16,990 times

Advertisements

Alrighty, so I've posted a couple different, similar, threads about moving to various cities in Texas and Tennessee and now I've got myriad questions for moving to Atlanta. I'm sure most of these questions have been asked at some point, but I don't see a sticky that addresses them so here goes:

I am a college grad, I'm wrapping up a 2 year journey traveling around the world and I'm researching where I want to settle in America once I get back next month. Although I've been doing the research, I've yet to find a city that just feels right (without having visited first) so now I'm in a bit of a time crunch since I'm departing Kuala Lumpur in about four weeks.

I am originally from Portland, OR, but have no interest in moving back due to its abysmal unemployment rates and weather. My criteria for a new home is that I want somewhere that is mostly warm or hot year-round with plenty of sunshine. I'd like a low-ish cost of living, decent job prospects/low unemployment rates, diverse ethnicity, single 30-somethings, nicely balanced between liberal and conservative, charming small towns within a relatively short distance and on and on. Here are more specifics:

I'd like to buy a scooter to use as transport. Is that a safe mode of transport in Atlanta?