U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-28-2012, 07:31 PM

2 posts, read 2,728 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone! I'm looking to relocate to Atlanta this July and am sincerely hopeful about getting a teaching job. I've applied in Atlanta, DeKalb, Clayton, and Cobb for secondary social studies positions. I've got three years experience and a MA educator license.

Since all these counties create applicant pools, I am not sure of what the actual demand for teachers is. Can anyone speak to this and/or the general hiring process with any of these districts? Any and all tips/tidbits are appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-29-2012, 12:18 AM

74 posts, read 155,340 times
don't forget that we have some independent systems down here too. city of marietta (cobb) and city of decatur (dekalb). i would suggest you also include Gwinnett Co, largest system in the state. within gwinnett there is the city of buford system. good luck.

Old 03-29-2012, 03:32 AM

3,972 posts, read 11,069,721 times
Teaching jobs are very hard to find here. Don't expect that you will be able to be choosy. Gwinnett just announced that they are increasing class sizes next year, resulting in a net loss of teaching positions. Expect most of the systems to do the same, even if they don't publicize it. In APS, the cheating issues were at the elementary and middle level, so it is possible as the hearings progress there may be openings at the middle school level.

You need to cast a wider net. Look at all the metro systems.