U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
View Poll Results: After moving to Atlanta, did you make the right choice?
Yes 18 51.43%
No 10 28.57%
Between Yes and No 7 20.00%
Voters: 35. You may not vote on this poll

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-17-2012, 12:55 PM

7 posts, read 12,481 times
Default Anyone from NY who has moved to Atlanta and really likes it?

I am a software engineer. I am considering to move from NY to Atlanta.

I will like to get some feedbacks from people who have moved from NY to Atlanta and have liked it or not? and why?

I would really appreciate any points of views.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-17-2012, 01:12 PM

6,235 posts, read 3,585,299 times
What are you looking for and what do you expect?

Old 06-17-2012, 01:17 PM

1,614 posts, read 1,480,273 times
I did the opposite. I'm from Atlanta and now live in Manhattan.

I prefer living in New York, but Atlanta is always home and I enjoy going back a couple times a year.

One of the best parts about Atlanta of course is the cost of living. For what a sixth floor walk up studio will cost you in New York, you can get a 2 bedroom condo with a parking spot right by Piedmont Park in Atlanta. Hard to beat that.

Then if you get tired of living downtown, you can go buy a nice house in the suburbs for what your downpayment on a small condo back in New York would be.