U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-12-2013, 08:04 PM

4 posts, read 12,626 times

Advertisements

I will be moving from Chicago to the metro Atlanta area. I am getting married and my fiance lives in Atlanta. I am a highschool teacher. I have been looking and researching teaching jobs and the educational climate in the metro Atlanta area. I am from Chicago and we a have a strong teacher's union. I know that GA is a 'right to work state'. However, I would like to know a few things about teaching in the metro Atlanta/GA:
1) What is the teacher/work climate for teachers in GA?
2) Do teachers in GA have any type of job protection since there isn't a teacher's union? Is there due process and etc?
3) Do teachers get tenure? I have read some conflicting things about this?
4) What are some of the best/worst areas for teachers to teach at in GA?
I am a little apprehensive coming from Chicago to Georgia where to start and what to know.
Any other information would help! Thanks!

Old 05-13-2013, 03:46 AM

3,972 posts, read 11,062,137 times
My answers are in red. However, generally speaking, the hiring climate for teachers isn't great right now unless you are in a high needs area -- math, science or special ed. The second largest system in GA looks to be laying off teachers this year so the market may even be tougher.

Quote:
Originally Posted by city_chic View Post