U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-23-2015, 06:12 AM

17 posts, read 13,432 times

Advertisements

Maybe I'm new to the traffic here, but do people always drive on the shoulders? It's the first time I've seen it, and it genuinely pissed me off. It was for an exit off 285, and everyone was doing fine. Until 1 solitary car decided, nope, don't want to wait another 5 minutes, shoulder driving time. That, literally, opened the flood gates until finally, the shoulder was jam packed with cars, and when I finally made it to where I needed to exit, I had to wait for someone else to let me in, thus slowing down the cars behind me.

Do people not realize what the shoulder is for? It's for emergency vehicles. It's not so that you can shave 5 minutes off your drive time. I drive 180 miles a day round trip, and I'm NEVER late. If you're running late, you should plan better. Don't risk someone else's safety or even life, because you want to save time.

I personally believe if an ambulance was stuck behind these cars on the shoulder, and the person they were trying to get to died, every single one of these fools should be charged with involuntary manslaughter. It's ridiculous, and it's selfish.

Anyway, that's my rant. Have a good day folks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-23-2015, 06:35 AM

9,128 posts, read 17,152,817 times
There are some shoulders that are officially open to traffic during certain times of the day.

Every once and a while the GSP (Georgia State Patrol) and/or Local/County Police/Sheriff