U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-23-2017, 11:29 PM

92 posts, read 241,282 times

Advertisements

Hello,
OK, there's a lot to unpack here, but I'll do my best. I'm a young professional, born and raised in California, and have been working up in Portland, OR since November. I can't get too specific about my job (no, it's NOT the CIA, lol) but I can say that there are sites all over the country where I can work. The contract I'm currently on will keep me in Portland from anywhere until the end of June until the end of September, depending on the needs of the agency. Overall, I've enjoyed my time in Portland, but am torn between possibly renewing my contract to stay here, trying to do the same position back home in Oakland, or going somewhere else completely.

Which brings me to Atlanta. I previously worked on the campaign trail in South Carolina, and therefore had the chance to visit the ATL four times. I like the city for several reasons. It's a first-class city, but didn't seem overwhelming to me compared to some other places I've spent time in such as LA and NYC. Two, at least for the time being, the city's far more affordable than any place on the west coast. Three, I usually look for a city that has viable rail transportation. I'm aware that the MARTA seems to get subpar reviews among residents of the city, but I found it to be of good use. Also, it's always good to find a city where one can find a vibrant church home.