Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-15-2008, 06:22 AM

3 posts, read 18,042 times

Advertisements

Hi All,

I am a new international graduate student at Georgia Tech. at first glance, university place at underground seems appealing, but I read some disturbing notes about the safety of the place around it (Five Points). since I am new to the united states, I am looking for a friendly advice. Is this place as bad as it sounds? please keep in mind that I am new to the United States not just Atlanta.

There were talks about a close-by new student residence for GSU that was supposed to improve the security at the place, anybody knows what happened with that?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-15-2008, 06:24 AM

3,478 posts, read 7,251,864 times
As a graduate student at Georgia Tech, I would not advise living there. The area is not the safest, and you will have a hard time getting the basic things you need (groceries, for example) by living in downtown.

Why don't you check out the graduate student dorms at GT or get an apartment around there? Lots of graduate students live in the area. You could even share an apartment or a house in Home Park with other graduate students.

Old 06-15-2008, 11:06 AM

thanks wxjay,

But why wouldn't be hard to get stuff at downtown? I thought that the great thing about such place was that it is close to everything.