U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-09-2009, 08:58 PM

4 posts, read 39,732 times

Advertisements

I thought about moving to Covington, but I need to know how the city is.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-19-2009, 06:42 PM

21 posts, read 128,294 times
Hi i am actually a resident in covington, and i have been here about 2 years now. If you love country living and don't mind commuting to the atl downtown area, which takes about 30 mins then covington is for you. but keep in mind every city has its pros and cons, you will just have to experience it for yourself...PS I love it out here, because i am a country girl...and plus i have had no really bad experience i have great neighbors and live in a decent area...good luck

Old 04-19-2009, 07:50 PM

43 posts, read 224,393 times
lsc1077 is right on point about Covington. It is largely a rural/suburban area with one main hwy for shopping and eating. Neighborhoods and subdivision can be miles away from any grocery store or gas station. Covington has a lovely towne that has lots of southern charm with a hint of modernism. You can sit in a rocking chair on the porch of an ice cream parlor and people watch, or take a walk around the towne to the antique shops, five and dime type stores and boutiques while seeing beautiful antebellum and greek revival homes. One of the last times I was there a true southern gentlemen tipped his hat to me as he sauntered by with his cane.