U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Atlanta
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-15-2010, 05:41 PM

4 posts, read 16,099 times

Advertisements

Hello. We are thinking of moving from NYC to Atlanta. My wife and I are both 30-somethings. I am a doctor and she is a lawyer. We were born and raised in New Jersey.

My wife is sick of the cold weather, and after we were slammed this winter my wife says we move or I get the dog house. We want to stay in the East, and want a big city feel, but didnt want to go as far south as Miami. So, Atlanta fits the bill. We did research and my wife wont settle for anything less than Buckhead.

We want to join Peachtree Golf Club and we want to send our kids to Westminster or Lovett. What my wife is worried about is that as full-bred Sicilians with Jersey accents we wont be accepted in "Waspy" Buckhead, especially after Jersey Shore.

My younger cousin moved to Atlanta a couple of years ago and attended Westminister, and he has told me that some of the Buckhead kids called him a "guido" and the parents were very unfriendly to my aunt and uncle.

We will be stereotyped in Buckhead, or are the people accepting?

Will people be unfriendly to us at the Country Club?

Would we be better off in an area in Atlanta less "Waspy" than Buckhead?

Will our kids be made fun of?

Thanks for any responses!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-15-2010, 06:09 PM

2,642 posts, read 7,236,537 times
You need to move to New Orleans. They'd LOVE you there!