U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-09-2006, 01:22 PM

8 posts, read 43,572 times

Advertisements

I am not a typical Texan...a bit more liberal than most, I guess, and would like to find a community with some like-minded folks.
A community that is a small town (not alot of traffic and rushing); has artists that have settled there (I am an artist); maybe historic so that it will have a town-square rather than just ďmallsĒ; have a farmerís market or organic food stores, cultural events,good music and art galleries, good book stores, art supply stores, maybe even a bead shop...kind of an ďart-community.Ē If Austin werenít so highly populated, expensive, and now a pretty big city, Iíd be looking there.
Iím 66 yrs old and have Multiple Sclerosis and Arthritis so would like to have availablity to Neurologists, physical therapy, good doctors that are aware of up-to-date info about MS, a MS Society perhaps, volunteer programs of home health assistance, and also where alternative medicine and things like Tai Chi, Yoga, Pilatis (sp), and/or Acupunture might be available.
I am leaving Eugene, Oregon more for health reasons... for Eugene is definitely suitable to all those things Iíve listed above...it simply has too many days of grey-cold-drizzle weather (not good for my arthritis and I become home-bound); so, Iíve decided to re-locate while I still physically can . Iíve given myself about 6 to 9 months to get my house ready to sell and research possibile re-location places, look at possible homes available, etc. ANY ADVICE WOULD BE APPRECIATED.