Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-10-2015, 05:02 PM

90 posts, read 118,008 times

Advertisements

Hey guys,

I am currently a student planning on graduating next month from the University of Cincinnati. I will have a Bachelors in Biochemistry. Over the past few weeks I have been searching for jobs and saw that Austin is becoming a major city for Biotech jobs. This has made Austin the #1 city I want to move too. I love living in Cincinnati, but want to try living somewhere else. I have applied to many places but have had no interviews yet. I currently work in retail and my job said they should have no problem transferring down there, but I am most concerned about moving down there and not finding a job that can support the expenses that I will have. Just wondering if anyone has any advice. Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-10-2015, 05:17 PM

1,044 posts, read 2,374,993 times
Hey there -

I am originally from Dayton, Ohio (although lived in Chicago for many years before moving to TX). My brother is an engineer and he lives in Austin as well. So, I know your point of reference. It is definitely a town that has an employment base that centers around the Sciences (Tech, engineering, etc). I am not surprised to hear that the Biotech industry is establishing a presence there.