U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old Yesterday, 01:42 PM

28 posts, read 8,966 times

Advertisements

My son is in 8th grade at a private school that doesn't have a high school. He has applied to two private high schools that we both like, but if he doesn't get into either one, he'll need go to a public high school. Btw I'm not saying public schools are bad, but my son has done better in private school than public because of the small classes, etc. I'm a public school teacher myself and I know that there is no "one size fits all" in education.

Because his father and I live separately, and because I'm a teacher, there are actually three public high schools he could possibly attend next year: Anderson, Lake Travis, and Westwood. Would anyone who has had children attend one of those like to share their thoughts on the academics, safety & social experience at those schools?

Out of the three, I'm most familiar with Westwood because I teach at one of its feeder schools. So I know the vibe & values there, and the type of student body it has. But I'd still very much welcome more input if anyone has any.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old Yesterday, 05:22 PM

5,761 posts, read 8,223,765 times
Just an FYI, if you have an address within AISD your kiddo could transfer to any AISD school that isn’t closed to transfer (I think that’s Akins and Bowie but if you’re north those wouldn’t make sense anyway). If he does better private what about applying for LASA?

Old Yesterday, 05:41 PM

7,059 posts, read 12,703,957 times