Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-25-2008, 03:12 PM

9 posts, read 41,414 times

Advertisements

I've definitely viewed a lot of post where others are pondering the move to Austin. I've also viewed various stats that speak on my situation in relation to an Austin move, but I love to hear from actual ppl.

Here's the sit...I'm a 31 year old, African-American, single-mom from the Metro Detroit area. I am a Social Worker with a Master's degree and approx. 2 1/2 years field experience. I'm looking for affordable housing/renting (town homes/houses), and an excellent & diverse school district for my 11 yr. old daughter (middle school).

My hobbies are the arts (poetry, music, art, jewelry, etc.). Poetry and live music are VERY important to me to have in my residing city, along with mingling with other young and diverse professionals. Real talk: I also want to be made aware of what areas to stay away from...whether it be due to racism, poor school districts, expensive housing, etc.

THX in advance for any help u may have!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-25-2008, 08:31 PM

1,133 posts, read 4,185,599 times
What's your price range?

Old 05-26-2008, 09:38 PM

Hmmm well that's another factor...I'm not even sure of what price range is considered reasonable. So far, the average for my profession and experience would fall somewhere between $45-60,000 a year.

Old 06-15-2008, 09:59 AM

8 posts, read 24,153 times
Your question is very broad. Do you have specifics?