U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Happy Easter!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Closed Thread Start New Thread

Unread 01-15-2007, 12:41 AM

22 posts, read 71,725 times
Post Is a Black Man welcomed in Austin?

Hi Guys, ... please forgive me for the blunt nature of my question but i have a huge life altering decision to make on where to move to when i return to the States from Europe in the next few months. I am a Black writer and aspiring flimmaker in my late 30's who works as a waiter/bartender to pay the bills and i'm in desperate need of the straight unvarnished, warts n' all , good bad and ugly TRUTH about the social dynamic of the city of Austin in terms of integration, tolerance and inclusiveness. I should mention i was born and raised in Alabama( some bad memories ..which is why this question is so important), lived in Venice Beach and South Beach and I'm currently living in the North of Italy . Of course i have read many, many wonderful things about Austin and it really seems like it could be the perfect place for someone with my interests but unfortunately in my research I have also read some rather disturbing things regarding racial incidents involving the Austin police and incidents that seem to occur at the nearby college campuses and surrounding areas. Am i misinformed ? Is this old news of the past and not a concern or reality of the present. Is there a Black part of town and a White part of town where all the wonderful things are? Are interracial couples welcomed and accepted and In addition to the Hispanic