Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-14-2010, 12:19 AM

22 posts, read 98,802 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone! This is my first post, however I have been "stalking" this forum for some time.
I am currently finishing up my junior year of college (and hoping to graduate a semester early), I am majoring in Political Science, and getting a minor in Criminology. I want to move to the Austin area, and was wondering where would be a good place to look for jobs with my degree? Whether it be a lobbyist, or something in public policy, or any Government job of some kind, what is there in Austin that I could do with my major? I live outside of Texas; I've been to Austin a couple times though, and really loved it. Now I know that I can apply for any police dept. in the country, and most likely get a job easy enough. However I want to know/see what else is out there first. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-14-2010, 01:35 AM

43 posts, read 114,336 times
it all depends on where your degree is from

Old 01-14-2010, 09:00 AM

It is from one of the top liberal arts schools....are there any jobs relating to my degree in Austin? Government?

Old 01-14-2010, 09:02 AM

7,228 posts, read 16,013,040 times
Internship!

You need to have one and maybe two under your belt before you graduate. Internships give you real world experience and help you build a network of relationships. Your network and experiences will get you a job NOT your major!