U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 01-16-2010, 09:22 AM

7 posts, read 8,880 times

Advertisements

Hi Everyone!

**For those of you who are planning to critique everything I have to say and repost 'quoting' my questions without a nice or useful reply, please do not bother and waste my time. Thank you!!

Quickly, here's the deal: My husband and I are in our late 20's, expecting our 1st baby this summer, he is a carpenter, I am a preschool teacher.. we love the outdoors, weekend road trips, things like that. Do not need to live in walking distance to EVERYTHING, but would like a few things nearby so I can go out with the baby without the car. Currently pay $680 + for a huge 2 bedroom/2 bath apt. with a lake and wooded view in North ATL, would want to pay similar price for something as close to that as possible if we were to move (I know that may not be possible, and we are flexible, but any neighborhood recommendations appreciated).
Looking for a change b/c:
1) Skilled Trade: ATL is AWESOME, but the carpentry field seems to be better in Austin (I know no where is perfect at the moment, but it does seem better), is this true?
2) Weather: The humidity here is brutal, I have heard although Austin is very hot, but the heat is different..is this true?