U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 09-14-2010, 11:37 AM
 
Location: California
10,091 posts, read 35,802,367 times
Reputation: 22073

Advertisements

I still had to pay all kinds of fees and paperwork $s to NC...added up to just about that...give or take.. I still had to apply for NC temp. tag to get the car back here to Tx. And was still stopped twice by Officers, supposedly checking on the registration (and checking out the car)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-14-2010, 12:00 PM
 
Location: Niceville, FL
7,282 posts, read 15,288,684 times
Reputation: 7029
Florida DHSMV - New Residents

Quote:
You bought it less than six months ago
If the motor vehicle was purchased and used less than six months in another state, territory of the United States or the District of Columbia, the full amount of the six percent Florida sales or use tax and local discretionary sales surtax is required. However, that is offset by the sales tax you paid in the prior jurisdiction. For example, if you owe 6% to Florida, but you paid 4% to another state, you will only owe 2% to Florida.

And you really want to find that old plate because if the state will 'count' it, then you'll only pay about $100 to get the new car registered instead of the $300+ 'new vehicle-new plate' charge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-14-2010, 12:14 PM
 
Location: Victoria TX
42,668 posts, read 71,556,197 times
Reputation: 35864
I've bought at least five cars out of state and brought them immediately into Michigan, and there were never any additional charges, above what would have been charged if I had bought the cars in Michigan.

But if it's going into a Plates-stay-with-car state, there might be a first time plate issuing charge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-12-2014, 11:16 AM
 
2 posts, read 2,124 times
Reputation: 10
Does anybody have the law where it says that you will pay it in florida vice texas? I have to bring that to the dmv (long story)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-12-2014, 11:18 AM
 
2 posts, read 2,124 times
Reputation: 10
And sorry, I know this is an old thread
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2018, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top