U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-25-2013, 11:15 AM

3,279 posts, read 4,035,159 times

Advertisements

Last week I swapped the brake pads on our 2004 Oldsmobile Alero. I'm not a car mechanic by any means, but I decided I'd try the job myself for money-saving purposes, as the pads were $20 (vs it probably costing $100 if I'd had it done by a shop). I followed the steps as shown on a video, removing the wheel & the caliper, with the caliper supported so it wasn't hanging by the brake lines, removing the old pads, greasing the new pads, putting them in, closing the caliper in with the C-clamp (using one of the old pads where the "tip" of the C-clamp went so it had a smooth surface to do its thing), then re-attaching everything. I didn't change the rotors (a guy at AutoZone managed to peek & say they looked fine to him), I had driven it almost zero since hearing the scrubbing noise during braking (we have a 2nd car, we just parked the Alero) as prior experience told me I'd better act fast or else the brake job would be a lot more involved.

I didn't "bleed" the brakes during this process, as I didn't change anything but the pads, the only thing was when I first test-drove it the brake pedal initially went almost to the floor, I had to "pump" the pedal a few times initially before leaving our driveway & hitting the road itself. Since then, though, it's driven fine with no problems at all.