U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-22-2013, 05:07 PM

6,191 posts, read 15,350,330 times

Advertisements

(Inability to comprehend compass points is a whole 'nother rant....)

So I hired someone new about a month ago; I'm a painting contractor and our jobs are all over the place but mostly in south Genesee county. This guy has a seriously hard time getting directions, reading maps, etc. He has a computer (No smartphone-GPS though), can read, and seems quite intelligent. But I'm about to let him go because of the constant drama of him getting lost, needing major hand-holding (ie I guide him in by phone which is tiresome) and not getting to work on time...or at all.

Last night I emailed him the mapquest link to the job along with very explicit step-by-step directions, thinking it would make it easier for him. It didn't. Apparently he got hopelessly lost, ended up about ten miles north, utterly confused. Never made it to work. He has lived in this county most of his life, I should add - I've been here 12 years. How he ended up where he did without really knowing where he WAS baffles me.

MY directions, verbatim (with the address redacted.)

Quote:
I-75 south to exit #108 Holly Rd.
Turn RIGHT.
First light is to Genesys, go straight.
turn LEFT at second light, Baldwin Rd.

Stay on Baldwin.