Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Aviation
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-08-2013, 02:33 PM

85 posts, read 126,763 times

Advertisements

I'm new to frequent flyer programs, but not to flying. My husband and I plan to do as much traveling as we can during our lives, all over the world. We are mid-20s right now, but once we get settled in careers, we'd like to take at least one trip a year. We also plan to move away from our home state, so would likely fly home for holidays when possible.

I am just starting to look into frequent flyer programs, and I'm getting so confused. I don't know what any of the jargon means, and people keep saying, there's no one best program, it depends on your lifestyle, etc. I have no idea which one to pick!

We are hoping to find a program with the following characteristics (tell me if it's wishful thinking, I really don't know the logistics of these programs at all):
Easy to earn points/miles (even if it's fairly slow because we don't travel a TON, but want to earn on every flight we take)
Easy to use the points/miles on flights that are convenient/in our plans
Easy to book/redeem online without having to call customer service
Lots of destinations we can fly to, including international cities
Points don't expire