U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland > Baltimore
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-18-2011, 06:59 AM

83 posts, read 366,558 times

Advertisements

I'm new to Federal Hill and I'm looking for a nice bike ride I can do from the city. I'm fine using my bike to get around the city but I'd like a relaxing, recreational ride where I'm not fighting cars the entire time.

Gwynns Falls Trail looks like a good ride but my girlfriend is freaked that it goes through west Baltimore. She knows Baltimore a lot better than I do so I'm hesitant. I might try it on my own but I don't want to get jacked. We tried the part of the trail that goes south from M&T and it was about the ugliest scenery possible. We turned around when it got too ghetto for a couple of white people on nice bikes with dorky helmets.

How is Gwynns Falls Trail heading west? Any other rides?
Quick reply to this message

Old 03-18-2011, 07:11 AM

6,473 posts, read 10,731,782 times
Don't be scared. I do this ride all the time from end to end. It's fine. Take the side trail to Dickeyville - it's a place like no other in Baltimore. When you get to Leakin Park make sure you stop by the Carrie Murray Nature Center and explore the grounds of the Crimea estate. Very cool stuff.

Try the Jones Falls Trail also. You can also ride the light rail to Glen Burnie and ride the B&A trail to Annapolis.