U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Labor Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland > Baltimore
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-01-2007, 03:24 AM

3 posts, read 16,508 times
Default Driving/Photography in bad neighborhoods?

I am a photography student who is fascinated with dilapidated houses/buildings/decay. I have seen this in many [presumably] bad neighborhoods in Baltimore (West Baltimore, Northern/Eastern) and would love to drive around and get pictures (from my car) (and really quickly) (I would only be photographing architecture, not people).

Is this safe? The risky part is that I'd want to get these shots at night when everything really looks abandoned and most beautiful. I mean, I would never walk around these neighborhoods alone at night, but what about driving?

I keep playing out this terrible scenerio in my mind that someone's just gonna gome up to my car window with a gun and tell me to get out, or something like that. Am I being overly paranoid and ignorant? How safe is it to drive - not walk - but drive around these bad areas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-01-2007, 07:26 AM

1,934 posts, read 4,001,852 times
Default Do it right

As a photographer you know that good pictures seldom can be taken from a car. moving or otherwise. You must get out, stroll around for best angles and lighting conditions. You may need some people in the pictures to make them real.