U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Sports > Basketball
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 08-19-2011, 06:03 PM
 
Location: metro Portland Oregon
159 posts, read 291,519 times
Reputation: 87

Advertisements

I've been a basketball official for over 20 years. In our local kids rec league, we give a rules test to the coaches prior to each season. Here's the one we gave last year. All questions pertain to high school rules as put forth by the governing body in all 50 states, the National Federation of State High School Associations. Post your answers and after a while, I'll post the correct ones.

RULES TEST Ė ANSWER TRUE OR FALSE TO EACH QUESTION


1) ON AN INBOUND PLAY, IF THE INBOUNDER MOVES MORE THAN THREE FEET BACKWARDS BEFORE INBOUNDING, ITíS A VIOLATION
2) A PLAYER CANNOT BEGIN A LEGAL DRIBBLE BY PUSHING THE BALL TO THE FLOOR WITH BOTH HANDS
3) PLAYERS MAY PLAY WITH EARRINGS AS LONG AS THEY ARE COVERED TIGHTLY WITH MASKING TAPE
4) WHEN INBOUNDING IN THE FRONT COURT, IT IS A VIOLATION TO INBOUND THE BALL TO A PLAYER IN THE BACK COURT
5) IF A PLAYER DIVES FOR A LOOSE BALL, GRABS THE BALL AND CONTINUES SLIDING, IT IS A TRAVELING VIOLATION
6) IF AN INBOUNDER IS HOLDING THE BALL OUT OF BOUNDS AND A DEFENDER REACHES ACROSS THE LINE AND PUTS BOTH HANDS ON THE BALL, IT IS A HELD BALL
7) IF A PLAYER SHOOTS AN AIR BALL, THAT PLAYER CANNOT BE THE
FIRST TO TOUCH THE
BALL BEFORE IT COMES DOWN AND HITS THE
FLOOR

8) IF A PLAYER IS HOLDING THE BALL AND A DEFENDER SLAPS THE BALL HANDLERS HAND CAUSING THE BALL TO BECOME LOOSE, IT IS A PERSONAL FOUL
9) IF A PLAYER REACHES OVER ANOTHER PLAYERíS BACK TO GRAB THE BALL, IT IS A PERSONAL FOUL
10) IF A PLAYER IS DRIBBLING AND BOUNCES THE BALL OFF THEIR FOOT, THEY CANNOT RUN AND RECOVER THE LOOSE BALL

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-23-2011, 03:44 PM
 
1,833 posts, read 2,164,415 times
Reputation: 1616
Quote:
1) ON AN INBOUND PLAY, IF THE INBOUNDER MOVES MORE THAN THREE FEET BACKWARDS BEFORE INBOUNDING, ITíS A VIOLATION



False


Quote:
2) A PLAYER CANNOT BEGIN A LEGAL DRIBBLE BY PUSHING THE BALL TO THE FLOOR WITH BOTH HANDS



True


Quote:
3) PLAYERS MAY PLAY WITH EARRINGS AS LONG AS THEY ARE COVERED TIGHTLY WITH MASKING TAPE



False


Quote:
4) WHEN INBOUNDING IN THE FRONT COURT, IT IS A VIOLATION TO INBOUND THE BALL TO A PLAYER IN THE BACK COURT



False


Quote:
5) IF A PLAYER DIVES FOR A LOOSE BALL, GRABS THE BALL AND CONTINUES SLIDING, IT IS A TRAVELING VIOLATION



True




Quote:
6) IF AN INBOUNDER IS HOLDING THE BALL OUT OF BOUNDS AND A DEFENDER REACHES ACROSS THE LINE AND PUTS BOTH HANDS ON THE BALL, IT IS A HELD BALL



False



Quote:
7) IF A PLAYER SHOOTS AN AIR BALL, THAT PLAYER CANNOT BE THE FIRST TO TOUCH THE BALL BEFORE IT COMES DOWN AND HITS THE
FLOOR



True




Quote:
8) IF A PLAYER IS HOLDING THE BALL AND A DEFENDER SLAPS THE BALL HANDLERS HAND CAUSING THE BALL TO BECOME LOOSE, IT IS A PERSONAL FOUL



True

Quote:
9) IF A PLAYER REACHES OVER ANOTHER PLAYERíS BACK TO GRAB THE BALL, IT IS A PERSONAL FOUL



True


Quote:
10) IF A PLAYER IS DRIBBLING AND BOUNCES THE BALL OFF THEIR FOOT, THEY CANNOT RUN AND RECOVER THE LOOSE BALL



False
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-23-2011, 03:47 PM
 
Location: metro Portland Oregon
26 posts, read 45,090 times
Reputation: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by WakaFlocka View Post


False
True
False
False
True
False
True
True
True
False
Nope - they're all false. Not kidding.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-23-2011, 03:55 PM
 
1,833 posts, read 2,164,415 times
Reputation: 1616
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffreymanorborn View Post
Nope - they're all false. Not kidding.

At least I got half of them right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-25-2011, 03:53 PM
 
Location: spring tx
7,912 posts, read 8,215,647 times
Reputation: 1982
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffreymanorborn View Post
Nope - they're all false. Not kidding.
I have not looked much but #7 is true. A player can't be the 1st to touch the ball after shooting an airball, that would be a pass to himself. The ball has to touch something or someone 1st.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-27-2011, 01:17 PM
 
Location: Trumbull/Danbury
6,556 posts, read 4,514,171 times
Reputation: 2488
Haven't looked at the answers yet.

1) ON AN INBOUND PLAY, IF THE INBOUNDER MOVES MORE THAN THREE FEET BACKWARDS BEFORE INBOUNDING, ITíS A VIOLATION
False

2) A PLAYER CANNOT BEGIN A LEGAL DRIBBLE BY PUSHING THE BALL TO THE FLOOR WITH BOTH HANDS
True


3) PLAYERS MAY PLAY WITH EARRINGS AS LONG AS THEY ARE COVERED TIGHTLY WITH MASKING TAPE
False

4) WHEN INBOUNDING IN THE FRONT COURT, IT IS A VIOLATION TO INBOUND THE BALL TO A PLAYER IN THE BACK COURT
False

5) IF A PLAYER DIVES FOR A LOOSE BALL, GRABS THE BALL AND CONTINUES SLIDING, IT IS A TRAVELING VIOLATION
True

6) IF AN INBOUNDER IS HOLDING THE BALL OUT OF BOUNDS AND A DEFENDER REACHES ACROSS THE LINE AND PUTS BOTH HANDS ON THE BALL, IT IS A HELD BALL
False

7) IF A PLAYER SHOOTS AN AIR BALL, THAT PLAYER CANNOT BE THE
FIRST TO TOUCH THE
BALL BEFORE IT COMES DOWN AND HITS THE
FLOOR

True??

8) IF A PLAYER IS HOLDING THE BALL AND A DEFENDER SLAPS THE BALL HANDLERS HAND CAUSING THE BALL TO BECOME LOOSE, IT IS A PERSONAL FOUL
True. it should be anyway. If it said slapping the ball that would be a different story, slapping the hands is a clear foul

9) IF A PLAYER REACHES OVER ANOTHER PLAYERíS BACK TO GRAB THE BALL, IT IS A PERSONAL FOUL
True

10) IF A PLAYER IS DRIBBLING AND BOUNCES THE BALL OFF THEIR FOOT, THEY CANNOT RUN AND RECOVER THE LOOSE BALL
False
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-28-2011, 01:41 PM
 
Location: metro Portland Oregon
159 posts, read 291,519 times
Reputation: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by rigas View Post
I have not looked much but #7 is true. A player can't be the 1st to touch the ball after shooting an airball, that would be a pass to himself. The ball has to touch something or someone 1st.
Nope. The question says he "shoots" an airball. If, in the opinion of the official, the act is a legitimate shot attempt, then there is a loss of team control and player control so any player on the court, including the player who took the shot, can be first to touch the ball. It does not have to hit anything nor even go "rim high". Remember, these are high school rules.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-28-2011, 01:50 PM
 
Location: metro Portland Oregon
159 posts, read 291,519 times
Reputation: 87
quote=7express Haven't looked at the answers yet.

2) A PLAYER CANNOT BEGIN A LEGAL DRIBBLE BY PUSHING THE BALL TO THE FLOOR WITH BOTH HANDS
True
False - this is absolutely allowed.

5) IF A PLAYER DIVES FOR A LOOSE BALL, GRABS THE BALL AND CONTINUES SLIDING, IT IS A TRAVELING VIOLATION
True False - if the player's own momentum from diving causes him to slide and/or roll, it is allowed. If he came to a stop, then slid or rolled, then it would be a violation.

7) IF A PLAYER SHOOTS AN AIR BALL, THAT PLAYER CANNOT BE THE
FIRST TO TOUCH THE
BALL BEFORE IT COMES DOWN AND HITS THE
FLOOR

True?? False - see my post above.

8) IF A PLAYER IS HOLDING THE BALL AND A DEFENDER SLAPS THE BALL HANDLERS HAND CAUSING THE BALL TO BECOME LOOSE, IT IS A PERSONAL FOUL
True. it should be anyway. If it said slapping the ball that would be a different story, slapping the hands is a clear foul False - it's an "old saying" that the hand is part of the ball, but under high school rules, it's true. If the defender hits the players hand or hands while they're on the ball, it's the same as hitting the ball.

9) IF A PLAYER REACHES OVER ANOTHER PLAYERíS BACK TO GRAB THE BALL, IT IS A PERSONAL FOUL
True False - despite what you hear from every announcer and coach, in high school there's no such foul as "over the back" (or a "reach", either). If the defender reaches OVER another player's back, there's no contact so no foul. If he goes ON the other player's back, then there's probably a foul, depending on how much contact and the result of the contact.

BTW - I'm the rules interpreter for my referee association and have been for many years.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Sports > Basketball
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top