U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-15-2010, 01:49 PM

2 posts, read 3,810 times

Advertisements

Hi there. My room mate, my boyfriend and myself are all considering moving up to Boston. We've gotten into a debate as to how expensive it would be to live there and how difficult it would be to find and obtain a job. Currently we live in western North Carolina.

I have been saying that it will be just as difficult in Boston to find a job and pay for living expenses. I have a bachelor's degree and have six years of customer service experience, one year of office working experience, two years experience in management, two years in sales and I am certified in bar and beverage management by the american hotel and lodging educatonal institute. So I am qualified to work a variety of jobs.

I've had very terrible luck finding a decent job where I live and around where I live now. I have applied to jobs as far away as Charlotte, Hickory, Wilkes, Asheville, etc. Which range from 4 to 1 hour away from where I currently live. If I made around $13-14 an hour and got 40 hours a week I could afford to pay for everything (based on living expenses at my currently place). I have income based repayment option for my college loans and I make so little my repayment is $0.00. I owe a bunch of money in doctor bills as well. It's very important for me to earn enough money to pay my bills.