U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-29-2012, 11:07 AM

38 posts, read 79,099 times

Advertisements

Hi folks,

So it's probably an issue all over but I moved into Somerville in January and I'm just finding it crazy after getting another ticket yesterday.

I am a resident, I paid for my permit, I park my car outside my home (or at least nearby depending how busy it is), I try to be conscientious of any obstruction, blocking anything, or even just making life difficult some someone parked around me. After falling to a few tickets, I've read all documentation available online as to parking regulations yet here I am again with nice orange envelope in my hand.

How do you avoid these things?

This one was for being within 20 feet of an intersection. I won't get into what is and is not considered an intersection here but it was pretty stingey.
Admittedly, I counted 17 feet away. But here's the thing, cars are parked there almost 24/7 right up to the corner, including blocking a disabled ramp at times, no tickets, it appears fine to park there.
There is a sign stating cars can park either side of it and nothing suggesting a "no park zone".
If you count a full 20 feet from the "intersections" edge (can the disabled ramp be included in the 20 feet or is it additional?), then the space left between those 20feet and a drive way, which is exactly where the parking sign is placed, does not allow for a car of any decent size to fit at all, hence my 17 feet buffer.