U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-30-2013, 11:09 AM

40 posts, read 171,957 times

Advertisements

My husband and I currently live in Los Angeles, and want to move to Boston to be closer to family. But I'm concerned about the cost of daycare...

We currently bring in about $66K a year, and I'm a full-time student. Could we afford daycare in Boston, and still be able to live in a safe neighborhood? ("Safe neighborhood" = not hearing gunshots at 2am, not having drug dealers hang out on your stoop, and being able to run out to the grocery store late at night without worrying about getting mugged.)

If not, how much would we need to be bringing in, in order to do those things?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-30-2013, 05:28 PM

3,404 posts, read 7,252,467 times
What I can tell you is:

Avg daycare price in Boston Area= $2,000 per month and most visible ones (ie: in storefronts instead of homes) have waiting lists so get in line

Rent for a 1 bedroom in a safe area for a 1 bedroom = $1,400

2 bedroom = $1,800

Want to live in an area with a lot of other young families? Add $200-$300 per month to those prices above. Those rates are for student and immigrant, and working class type areas that are safe but expect broken glass and drunk people (students).

Old 08-30-2013, 05:29 PM

3,404 posts, read 7,252,467 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wants2MoveNOW View Post