U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-30-2013, 01:33 PM

145 posts, read 206,994 times

Advertisements

I am a journalist in the Boston area. I am considering writing an article about how to deter gym locker theft. This discussion will hopefully provide some valuable tips for my story and anyone wanting extra protection.

While locker theft cannot be prevented, there are things that an individual or business can do to make a locker, lock, or business less attractive to the thief.

Some suggestions I've received so far are:

1. Buy a quality lock which is difficult to cut, shim, and pick.
2. Choose a locker that is in a visible location rather than in a little hidden corner.
3. Gym owners might place a few alarmed locks on empty lockers.

Things I've been researching:
1. Whether eye-catching locks get picked/broken into more often than dull ones that blend in?
2. Where in the locker rooms do most thefts take place? Near the entrance, showers, etc.?
3. Which locks are recommended?
4. Has any gym owner tried putting a camera outside the locker room entrance, and did that bother members?

Please add your own suggestions and feel free to discuss.
Quick reply to this message

Old 08-30-2013, 05:42 PM

2,050 posts, read 3,461,317 times
At Planet Fitness in Quincy, they post a sign just outside the locker rooms referring to "due to recent thefts, please guard your valuables." Or something to that effect. It was posted the entire time I was a member, over three months.